Specimen Book

Written Research

For this Project, I have chosen the font Avenir Next with the subject of Oreo cookies.

I will start by researching the basic history of the font I will be using.

https://www.fonts.com/font/linotype/avenir-next/story

Screen Shot 2017-04-18 at 4.08.57 PM

 

 

 

https://www.linotype.com/2090/avenir-next.html

Screen Shot 2017-04-18 at 4.16.34 PM

 

 

 

https://morganlmurrayims224researchtopic.wordpress.com/2014/06/19/avenir/

Screen Shot 2017-04-18 at 4.18.32 PM.png

 

 

 

http://www.historygraphicdesign.com/the-age-of-information/the-international-typographic-style/176-adrian-frutiger

Screen Shot 2017-04-18 at 4.22.21 PM

 

 

https://www.quora.com/Typefaces-and-Fonts-What-are-the-differences-between-Avenir-and-Avenir-Next

Screen Shot 2017-04-18 at 4.25.17 PM.png

 

 

http://thisispeel.com/new-page-2/

Screen Shot 2017-04-18 at 9.55.38 PM.png

Visual Inspiration

While presenting my idea to Professor Polakov, he mentioned an alternative idea to Oreo cookies. After class, he sent me an email about a song that he had shared with me and the class earlier. It was an Oreo jingle from the 1950s:

Little girls have pretty curls
But I like Oreos.
Oreo’s the best because
It’s the very best cookie ever was.
Girls are nice but oh what ic-ing comes with Oreos.

Here is the book that he also spoke of in class:

Although I may not get a chance to read the book in full, I find the story as well as the front cover very interesting. The cover simulates an Oreo cookie, but the subject matter on the inside of the book is much deeper. The fact that there is an image of a cookie seen on the cover by only using type is something that I am thinking about.

Do I really want to include images of cookies? or do I prefer to use implied images through the use of a text-only Specimen book?

Here is more Visual Inspiration:

This ad for Oreos is very simple. However, I found that they seem to be using a san serif font that is different from Avenir. The look and feel of the photo are very clean. If I decide to use photos of Oreos, I must make sure that they are high quality.

 

 

https://www.thinkwithgoogle.com/campaigns/oreo-daily-twist.html

This video was a nice way for me to get the feel of Oreo’s visual marketing methods. How they interpreted pop culture was a unique way for Oreo’s to stand out from other cookies.

 

 

 

 

Screen Shot 2017-04-18 at 4.57.35 PM.png

 

I am not able to find a website where I can download the custom made font OREO SANS. I will stick to Avenir Next because it will contrast the Oreos well. I would prefer the custom made one if I could download it. It is also very unique to match the feel of Oreos in general.

 

 

The Video

My class was given the choice to either made a specimen book or video. The professor recommended doing a video, so that’s what I did. I don’t feel like I know After Effects that well, so this will be quite challenging for me. There was no minimum or maximum length for the video, so it shouldn’t be too hard.

I like to base my video off music. If I like the music, I usually just sync the movements in the video to the background music. In this case, I put together and edited some songs that went with the feel for the video: soft start, building middle, and climax finish. I find slide shows to quite boring if I were to do it for a specimen video. I want to make it fun for the viewer to watch, so that means that there needs to be changes and transitions involved. It can’t be too slow that it gets boring, but also can’t be too fast that the eye doesn’t process it.

With that being said, here is my video:

Leave a Reply

